Another Podcast Author bows out?

Podcast fiction is not a career, it’s something you do for the love of it. Sure, it’s a good way to build a name, and build people interested in your stuff, make a ‘platform’… but only if you love it. Or it’ll fail. And hurt.

I am a writer. I’m also a communicator and a net culture guy, so podcasting is a no-brainer for me, right? Well, scratch that, it actually was-and is-a bit of thought, and a heckuva lot of work.

Don’t get me wrong, I love it, but when Phil Rossi recently admitted in his blog that after losing his job, he’s thinking about turning off the podcasting mic, it resonated. Made me sad. Rung my bell.

…expenses that seemed to be trivial are now anything but…I’m now in position to pursue my passions, but can’t afford to do so…if you’ve enjoyed my audio work in the past and want to see more…consider making a donation or buying one of my ebook(s). A little bit from each of you could help immeasurably. It sucks that I have to view the podcasting piece as “what is the return on this investment.” Regardless, there has to be some return…

Phil Rossi is a very talented singer and podcast novelist. I strongly believe his stuff is worth it. If you do, I hope you go buy it, to help keep him in the game. I’m not going anywhere for the foreseeable future, but as my 2-week late start podcasting my new novella has shown, life can kick you. Hard.

I’m between contracts myself right now. There, I said it. I’ve carved out time to write, and to podcast, at least for this year. I’ve got ebooks to hawk and more fun stuff planned. After that? Well, I might have to ask myself the hard questions. Hard questions about giving up a dream in exchange for feeding a family.

But for right now, I’m hard charging. If you’ve got time, and inclination, how’s about you charge on over to the Phil Rossi Experience, and see about helping out a deserving artist stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Thank you,

One comment

  1. Chris Hvidsten

    Speaking from experience, I know how hard life can kick you, especially when you’re trying to do something you love.

    I agree that Phil’s an amazing writer and musician. He’s also one hell of a class act. When I purchased ‘Crescent’ from him, there were a few logistical things that needed to be worked out, and he bent over backwards to make sure the book and CD got out to me.

    It saddens me that he may have to put the mic away in order to survive…I’ve met other podcasters who’ve had to do the same thing. I can only hope that things work out in the future for him, you…for all of us who have stories to tell…

Leave a Reply

